The Dielectrophoresis Network

at the University of Surrey


Prof Michael Pycraft (Mike) Hughes

Hailing from Holy Island off the Welsh coast, Professor Michael Pycraft Hughes was appointed Professor of Biomedical Engineering in 2008 after joining the University of Surrey as a lecturer in 1999.  His 20-year research career has primarily focussed on the development of dielectrophoresis – more specifically the development of DEP-based assays. He has co-founded a company – DEPtech ( to bring technology developed and patented by the Surrey group (the “DEP-well” and “DEP-dot” platforms) to market, with the first product - the 3DEP reader, based on the DEP-wells - now available.  He also has broader interests in electric fields and cells at the microscale, and has published work with DSTL on sensor enhancement using microfluidics (which resulted in three patent applications), microelectrode devices for neural sensing, and simulations of laser removal of tattoos. He has written or co-written over 60 journal publications and two books, and has presented invited talks in the UK, US, France, Spain, Italy, Qatar, China and India. Since 2008, Mike has been Director of the Centre for Biomedical Engineering at the University of Surrey, one of the oldest positions in Biomedical Engineering (first appointment having been made in 1965).  For six years 2008-13 he was Editor in Chief of IEEE Transactions on Nanobioscience, and Course Director of the Masters in Biomedical Engineering.   Mike is/has been a member of:- IoP Dielectrics technical committee (2008-); IEEE Engineering in Medicine and Biology Society and IEEE Nanotechnology Council administrative committees (2008-2013); CODATA-VAMAS Working Group on Nanomaterials representing  the International Union for Physical and Engineering Sciences in Medicine (2013-); Electrophoresis Society Council member (2013-). Conference co-chair, IEEEE Bioinformatics and Biomedicine 2013; AES Annual Meeting 2015. Conference co-organiser: IoP Meeting on Dielectrophoresis 2014.  He received the 2003 British Association for the Advancement of Science Isambard Kingdom Brunel Award.

mike 2 Email